LAUREATES OF THE FIRST CALL FOR PROJECTS 

 

The Panel selected ten projects which, apart from their scientific quality and benefits in terms of improvement of the healthcare system, will contribute to the first version of the catalogue of data shared by the Health Data Hub.

 

DEEPSARC

Identifying the best sarcoma treatment regimens

A highly complex and varied form of cancer, the sarcoma is a category of rare tumours for which the effectiveness of clinical trials has reached its limits. Randomised studies have been carried out for almost 40 years now without any conclusions being reached as to the interest of chemotherapy in treatment of sarcomas, or on the pertinence of using it before or after surgery. Led by Professor Jean Yves Blay, Director-General of the Léon Bérard Centre and Director of the NetSarc network, alongside his teams and experts at the Bordeaux Centre for the Fight against Cancer and the University of Rennes, the Deepsarc project aims to study the impact of various treatments on real-life data with a view to identifying the most appropriate therapeutic regimens. It will make use of clinical data from the NETSARC database, an almost exhaustive reference base on sarcoma in France, including close to 50,000 patients. This data, along with medico-administrative data from the National Health Data System (SNDS), will enable patients to be monitored over time.

PARCOURS IDM EN IDF

Evaluating and improving care pathways following myocardial infarction

Proposed by Doctor Axelle Menu-Branthomme, Head of Department at the Île-de-France Regional Health Agency (ARS), with the support of SAMU 78 and the Health Cooperation Group (GCS) Sesan, the project seeks to characterise care pathways for patients in Île-de-France who have suffered acute myocardial infarction. This frequent and often fatal pathology can result in serious complications (residual heart failure, for example). Adding SNDS medico-administrative data to the eMust register, which provides details of each acute event when it occurs, will enable evaluation of various types of care pathways in terms of quality, safety and pertinence.

PIMPON

Sending prescribers warnings on dangerous drug interactions

Prescription safety tools incorporated into prescription assistance software generate large numbers of warnings due to almost systematic detection of drug interactions with possible adverse effects. The proliferation of such alerts wears down prescribers’ vigilance and they are paid increasingly less attention to. Current gradation of warnings takes account of the seriousness of their potential consequences but not of the frequency of the complications in question. Led by Jean-François Forget, Medical Director of VIDAL, the project aims to make use of SNDS data to estimate the real prevalence of complications resulting from drug interactions, in order to identify warnings that need highlighting due to their impact. It will then be possible to draw physicians’ attention back to the most pertinent warnings, which should lead to reduction in occurrences of serious, frequent and foreseeable complications.

HYDRO

Predicting heart failure crises in patients with pacemakers

Heart failure causes almost 5% of hospitalisations in France, for a total cost of 1.8 billion euros in 2016. Prediction of episodes of aggravation therefore constitutes a real challenge, which Doctor Arnaud Rosier, President of the Implicity startup, means to take up. His project seeks to develop a solution enabling prevention of heart failure crises in patients fitted with pacemakers / defibrillators, via analysis of telemonitoring data by artificial intelligence. The Health Data Hub will enable data from over 8000 devices worn by patients in intermediate care to be cross-referenced with SNDS data with a view to coming up with predictive models without having to label episodes of interest manually.

NS PARK

Predicting individual trajectories of patients with Parkinson’s disease

Jean Christophe Corvol, Professor of Neurology at La Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital, with support from ICM, INSERM and F-CRIN, is promoting this project, whose main aim is to provide neurologists with a tool for predicting individual trajectories of patients with Parkinson’s disease, so that they can implement appropriate preventive measures. The data provided by the large cohort of 20 000 individuals monitored in Centres Experts Parkinson will be chained with SNDS data in order to enable understanding of patients’ overall treatment. Computational and artificial intelligence approaches will be implemented in order to model the progression of the disease.

ARAC

 

Measuring and understanding patients’ real out-of-pocket costs

Promoted by Laurent Borella, Health Director at Malakoff Médéric Humanis, a non-profit mutual insurance company, the ARAC project aims to combine Assurance Maladie (SNDS) data with data on complementary reimbursements in order to calculate patients’ real final out-of-pocket costs in the French social protection model. These days, such OOP costs are either estimated via surveys or imputed. Exact measurement of such costs at individual level will be of great value to health economists. Among other things, they will be able to question the ways in which healthcare expenditures are funded, as well as shed light on questions of purchasing power and making money available for recourse to healthcare, etc.

ORDEI

Quantifying the proportion of patients suffering from undesirable effects

In 2017, almost 82,000 undesirable drug effects were declared for 12,000 medicaments on the market. Declarations of undesirable effects should be interpreted taking account of a given product’s uses as well as numbers of patients treated. Even though it has its limitations, the declaration rate (number of undesirable effects declared compared with the number of patients exposed) is an estimation necessary to the authorities, health professionals and patients alike in order to assess the importance of each declaration. It is currently calculated upon request and “by hand”. Promoted by Patrick Maison, Scientific Advisor at the National Agency of Medicine and Health Products Safety (ANSM), the project’s main goal is to develop a tool to automate calculation. To this end, it will draw on the ANSM’s national pharmacovigilance database, data on reimbursed ambulatory and hospital care prescriptions (SNDS) and the characteristics of products in CODEX (Marketing Authorisation repository).

OSCOUR

Mobilising emergency department data in order to improve health monitoring

Promoted by Yann Le Strat, Director of the National Public Health Agency’s Support, Data Processing and Analyses Division (DATA), with the assistance of FEDORU, the Brest Stroke Registry’s teams and the University of Rennes’ REPERES team, the project proposes creation of a database chaining all data from the Oscour® emergency monitoring network with SNDS medico-administrative data. The Oscour® database has been compiling summaries of emergency department admissions for almost fifteen years, with a total of over a hundred and thirty million emergency department visits identified. A cohort of this size will enable examination of a whole range of questions with a view to improving health monitoring in France. An initial experiment is set to be carried out on strokes, the most common cause of death among women and third most common cause among men.

DEEP.PISTE

Evaluating artificial intelligence’s contribution to organised breast cancer screening

With an estimated 11,883 deaths in 2017, breast cancer kills more women in France than any other form of cancer. Early screening results in a 21% fall in the mortality rate. Francisco Orchard, Head of the Data Science Unit at Epiconcept, with the support of his team, Occitania’s Regional Centre for Coordination of Cancer Screening (CRCDC) and the Curie Institute, proposes to evaluate the impact of integrating artificial intelligence into the organised breast cancer screening system. To do so, he will be drawing on the e-SIS breast cancer screening database created by the départements of Gard and Lozère, which includes over 250,000 annotated images, adding medico-administrative data with a view to reducing numbers of false negatives. This extensive base should enable creation of successful models of convolutional neural networks on data never previously used for such a purpose.

REXETRIS

Measuring the long-term impact of kidney-graft patients’ exposure to immunosuppressive drugs

There is still too little information on the connections between patients’ exposure to drugs and long-term effects, both generally and in cases of organ transplant. In the context of lifelong treatment, knowledge of such relationships would enable optimisation of therapeutic strategies, as well as the dosages and composition of such drugs. Promoted by Doctor Pierre Marquet of Limoges University Hospital, with support from INSERM and Optim’Care, the Rexetris project will be studying the connections between exposure to immunosuppressive drugs and the long-term future of kidney-graft patients and the grafts themselves. Work will make use of the Biomedicine Agency’s Cristal database and the Limoges University Hospital’s ABIS database.

© 2019 Direction de la recherche, des études, de l'évaluation et des statistiques 
Ministère des Solidarités et de la Santé - 14 avenue Duquesne - 75 350 Paris 07 SP

Hébergé chez Wix.com

LAUREATS DU PREMIER APPEL A PROJETS

 

Le jury de l'appel à projets a retenu dix projets, qui, au-delà de leur qualité scientifique ou leurs retombées en termes d’amélioration du système de santé, vont permettre d’alimenter la première version du catalogue de données partagées par le Health Data Hub.

 

DEEPSARC

Identifier les meilleurs schémas thérapeutiques pour le traitement du sarcome

Cancer très complexe et varié, le sarcome est une catégorie de tumeurs rares pour laquelle l’efficacité des essais cliniques arrive à ses limites. Depuis près de 40 ans, des études randomisées ont été conduites sans pouvoir trancher sur l’intérêt de la chimiothérapie pour traiter les sarcomes, et sur la pertinence de l’utiliser avant ou après la chirurgie. Porté par le professeur Jean Yves Blay, Directeur Général du Centre Léon Bérard et directeur du réseau NetSarc, au côté de ses équipes et d’experts du Centre de lutte contre le cancer de Bordeaux et de l’université de Rennes, le projet Deepsarc vise à étudier l’impact des différents traitements sur données de vie réelle afin de déterminer le schéma thérapeutique le plus pertinent. Il mobilisera les données cliniques de la base NETSARC, base de référence sur le sarcome quasi exhaustive en France avec plus de 50 000 patients. Ces données, enrichies par les données médico administratives (Système National des Données de Santé), permettront de suivre les patients dans le temps.

PARCOURS IDM EN IDF

Evaluer et améliorer les parcours de soin après un infarctus du myocarde

Proposé par le docteur Axelle Menu-Branthomme, responsable de département à l’ARS Île-de-France, avec le soutien du SAMU 78 et du GCS Sesan, le projet prévoit de qualifier les parcours de soins des patients ayant eu un infarctus du myocarde aigu en Île-de-France. Cette pathologie, fréquente et mortelle, peut donner lieu à d’importantes complications (insuffisance cardiaque séquellaire par exemple). L’enrichissement du registre e-Must, qui recense finement l’évènement aigu lors de sa survenue, par des données médico-administratives du SNDS permettra d’évaluer différents types de parcours de soin du point de vue de la qualité, de la sécurité et de la pertinence.

PIMPON

Remonter aux prescripteurs des alertes pour les interactions médicamenteuses dangereuses

Les outils de sécurisation de la prescription utilisés dans les logiciels d’aide à la prescription génèrent un nombre important d’alertes motivées par la détection quasi systématique d’interactions médicamenteuses à effet délétère éventuel. Cette multiplication des alertes sature la vigilance des prescripteurs qui leurs accordent de moins en moins d’attention. La gradation actuelle des alertes tient compte que de la gravité de leurs conséquences potentielles mais ignore la fréquence de ces complications. Porté par Jean-François Forget, directeur médical dans la société VIDAL, le projet vise à mobiliser les données du SNDS pour estimer la prévalence réelle des complications liées aux interactions médicamenteuses afin d’identifier des alertes nécessitant une mise en valeur particulière du fait de leur impact. L’attention des médecins pourra être restaurée vers les alertes les plus pertinentes, ce qui devrait aboutir à la réduction de l’incidence des complications graves, fréquentes et prévisibles.

HYDRO

Prédire les crises d’insuffisance cardiaque pour les patients porteurs de pacemaker

L’insuffisance cardiaque cause près de 5 % des hospitalisations en France, pour un coût de 1,8 milliard d’euros en 2016. La prédiction des épisodes d’aggravation constitue donc un véritable défi, que se propose de relever le docteur Arnaud Rosier, président de la startup Implicity. Son projet a vocation à développer une solution permettant de prévenir les crises d’insuffisance cardiaque pour les patients porteurs de pacemakers / défibrillateurs grâce à l’analyse des données de télésuivi par intelligence artificielle. Le Health Data Hub permettra le croisement des données des dispositifs de plus de 8000 patients en soin courant avec celles du SNDS afin d’entraîner des modèles prédictifs sans avoir à labéliser manuellement les épisodes d’intérêt.

NS PARK

Prédire les trajectoires individuelles des patients Parkinsoniens

Jean Christophe Corvol, Professeur de Neurologie à la Pitié-Salpêtrière, soutenu par l’ICM, l’Inserm et F-CRIN, porte ce projet dont l’objectif principal est de fournir aux neurologues un outils prédictif des trajectoires individuelles des patients parkinsoniens afin de mettre en oeuvre les mesures préventives appropriées. Les données de cette très belle cohorte de 20 000 individus suivis dans les centres experts Parkinson seront chaînées à celles du SNDS pour pouvoir appréhender la prise en charge globale des patients. Des approches computationnelles et d’intelligence artificielle seront mises en oeuvre pour modéliser la progression de la pathologie.

ARAC

 

Mesurer et comprendre les restes à charge réels des patients

Porté par Laurent Borella, directeur santé à Malakoff Médéric Humanis, mutuelle à but non lucratif, le projet ARAC va permettre, en complétant les données de l’Assurance Maladie (SNDS) avec les des données de remboursements complémentaires, de calculer les restes à charge finaux réels des patients dans le modèle de protection sociale français. Aujourd’hui, ces restes à charge sont estimés à l’aide d’enquêtes ou imputés. Une mesure précise et à l’échelle individuelle de ces quantités constituera une ressource de grande valeur pour l’écosystème des économistes de la santé. Ils permettront notamment d’interroger les modes de financement des dépenses de santé, d’éclairer les questions de pouvoir d’achat et de solvabilisation du recours aux soins, etc.

ORDEI

Quantifier la proportion de patients touchés par un effet indésirable

En 2017, près de 82 000 effets indésirables médicamenteux ont été déclarés pour 12 000 médicaments commercialisés. Les déclarations d’effets indésirables doivent s’interpréter au regard des indications du produit mais également du nombre de patients traités. Même s’il présente des limites, le taux de déclaration (nombre d’effets d’indésirables déclarés rapporté au nombre de patients exposés) est une estimation nécessaire pour les autorités, les professionnels de santé et les patients afin d’apprécier l’importance de chaque déclaration. Actuellement, son calcul se fait à la demande et « à la main ». Porté par Patrick Maison, conseiller scientifique à l’ANSM, l’objectif principal de ce projet est de développer un outil permettant d’automatiser ce calcul. Il s’appuiera à cette fin sur la base nationale de pharmacovigilance de l’ANSM, les données de prescriptions remboursées en médecine de ville et en milieu hospitalier (SNDS) et les caractéristiques des produits dans CODEX (référentiel des AMM).

OSCOUR

Mobiliser les données d’urgences pour améliorer la surveillance sanitaire

Porté par Yann Le Strat, directeur de la Direction Appui, Traitements et Analyses des données de l’Agence Nationale de Santé Publique, avec le concours de la FEDORU, des équipes du registre AVC de Brest et de l’équipe REPERES de l’université de Rennes, le projet soutenu propose de créer une base chaînant l’ensemble des données issues du réseau de surveillance Oscour® avec les données médico administratives du SNDS. Les données de la base Oscour® compilent les résumés de passage aux urgences depuis presque quinze ans, recensant plus de cent trente millions de passages aux urgences. Une telle cohorte permettra d’instruire quantité de questions en vue d’améliorer la surveillance sanitaire en France. Une première expérimentation sera menée sur les accidents vasculaires cérébraux, première cause de mortalité chez les femmes et troisième chez les hommes.

DEEP.PISTE

Evaluer l’apport de l’intelligence artificielle dans le dépistage organisé du cancer du sein

Avec 11 883 décès estimés en 2017, le cancer du sein tue plus de femmes que tout autre cancer en France. Le dépistage précoce permet une baisse de 21% de la mortalité. Francisco Orchard, responsable unité data science au sein de la société Epiconcept, appuyé par son équipe, le Centre Régional de Coordination des Dépistages des Cancers en Occitanie et l’Institut Curie, propose ici d’évaluer l’impact d’insérer de l’intelligence artificielle dans le dispositif de dépistage organisé du cancer du sein. Il s’appuiera pour cela sur la base de données e-SIS de dépistage de Cancer du Sein des départements du Gard et de la Lozère, comportant plus de 250 000 images annotées, enrichies par les données médico administratives dans le but de réduire le nombre de faux négatifs. Cette base conséquente devrait permettre d’entraîner des modèles performants de réseaux de neurones convolutionnels sur des données jamais utilisées à ce jour dans cette optique.

REXETRIS

Mesurer l’impact à long terme de l’exposition aux médicaments immunosuppresseurs des patients greffé rénal:

Les informations concernant les relations entre expositions des patients aux médicaments et effets à long terme sont aujourd’hui très lacunaires, dans le cas général comme en transplantation d’organe. Dans le cadre d’un traitement à vie, la connaissance de ces relations permettrait d’optimiser les stratégies thérapeutiques, les doses mais aussi les formules de ces médicaments. Porté par le docteur Pierre Marquet du CHU de Limoges, avec l’appui de l’Inserm et de la société Optim’Care, le projet Rexetris étudiera les relations entre l’exposition aux médicaments immunosuppresseurs et le devenir à long terme du patient greffé rénal et du greffon. Ces travaux mobiliseront les données de la base Cristal de l’Agence de la Biomédecine et de la base ABIS du CHU de Limoges.

© 2019 Direction de la recherche, des études, de l'évaluation et des statistiques 
Ministère des Solidarités et de la Santé - 14 avenue Duquesne - 75 350 Paris 07 SP

Hébergé chez Wix.com